Facing a DUI in Jonesboro, AR, can be overwhelming with its legal complexities. Knowing your rights and understanding the process is crucial for a favorable outcome.

Jonesboro residents facing DUI charges should seek knowledgeable legal support. Learn about your rights and find an attorney to navigate this challenging situation.

Possible Consequences of  Jonesboro, Arkansas DUI Convictions

Where you live, the severity of the incident, and your criminal record determine the sentencing for a DUI. The punishments can drastically increase if you have had previous DUIs, so be mindful of that. If this is your first DUI, do not go at it alone and risk costly mistakes. Get a Jonesboro law firm on your side to fight for you and your rights.

Paying Fines

If convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Jonesboro, Arkansas, you can count on fines being a part of your sentencing.

The minimum fine for a DUI conviction in Arkansas can start at $150. The maximum fine can be $1,000 for a first-time offense in Jonesboro.

However, other factors can drastically increase the amount you must pay, including:

  • Any damage to property while driving under the influence
  • If someone suffered injuries as a result of your intoxicated driving
  • Cases that include child endangerment
  • Any court costs associated with your case

Jail Time

Jail time is mandatory, even for first-time offenders in Jonesboro. If this is your first DUI offense, you may only have to face a day or two in prison. But if you have previous convictions for DUIs, you can be sentenced to several months or years, depending on the nature of the crime. Know that some circumstances can add even more time in a cell, including injury to other people while driving under the influence.

Probation

If you do not face jail time, you will likely be on probation, with the sentencing judge determining the duration. You will pay monthly fees, and you cannot commit any more criminal offenses, including traffic violations. If you violate the terms of your probation, count on facing time behind bars.

In Arkansas, if you’re on probation for a DUI, you’ll be under close watch, usually for at least a year. The court will set several rules you need to follow in Jonesboro. You might have to go through alcohol education or treatment, get regularly tested for drugs and alcohol, and attend meetings.

Drug and Alcohol Education Program

Following a Jonesboro DUI sentencing, the law states you must complete a drug and alcohol education program. This will teach you about the dangers of driving under the influence. These programs cost more fees besides the legal costs you already have to pay.

You might need to join education programs set by the court or as part of probation. The Alcohol Education Program (AEP) is one common requirement in Jonesboro. It teaches about alcohol’s impact on the body and mind, the dangers of driving under the influence, and how to drink responsibly.

The education programs also include a DUI evaluation. An evaluator asks you questions about how alcohol and drugs affect your life. If they believe that you are dependent, you may have to enter a substance abuse treatment program.

Suspension or Loss of License

No matter where you may face a DUI conviction, you have to undergo a license suspension period, at the very least. If it is your first DUI, you may have a license suspension for a few months while you go through probation and the drug and alcohol education program.

If this is not your first DUI, you may have your license suspended for much longer, or you could have it taken from you permanently.

What Should You Do When Charged With a DUI in Jonesboro, Arkansas?

If you’re facing a felony DUI charge, you must take the following steps to protect yourself:

Step 1: Contact an Attorney Familiar With   DUI Law

Immediately following your DUI arrest, you need to contact an experienced Jonesboro DUI attorney. Your attorney can help prepare for your arraignment and prepare a defense to vindicate yourself or reduce the sentencing.

Step 2: Learn About Your Local DUI Laws

Jonesboro, Arkansas has unique laws for DUI or DWI charges. Your lawyer will work with you to help you better understand your state’s laws on driving while intoxicated. It is critical to understand what charges you face and the potential outcomes of your case. 

Step 3: Request a DMV Hearing

You or your attorney should request a hearing as soon as possible following your arrest. In Jonesboro, Arkansas you only have so much time to ask for a DMV hearing to keep your license until your court appearance. If you do not request a hearing, prepare for a license suspension.

You must act fast to request a hearing with the DMV after a DUI arrest in Jonesboro. Within seven days of your arrest, submit a written request for an administrative hearing to challenge the suspension.

Step 4: Prepare for Court Appearance

You and your attorney will prepare for your appearance and arraignment in Jonesboro. If you plead “not guilty,” your DUI defense attorney represents you in court, and a judge and jury oversee the DUI law case.

Step 5: Receive Sentencing or Exoneration

You will either be “not guilty” of the charges brought against you and walk free, or you will receive sentencing for a guilty verdict.

Work with an Experienced Local DUI Lawyer in Jonesboro, Arkansas

Should you ever find yourself charged with a DUI, you need to work with an experienced Jonesboro lawyer who can stand up for you in court. You cannot clear your name of the charges or reduce the consequences without help. Your life and future depend on having great legal representation during your DUI case. Contact an attorney near you today. We can even help you connect with legal help across Arkansas state lines.

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!