Insurance Claims in Arkansas
What Are Insurance Claims?
Filing an insurance claim in Arkansas can be a stressful process. Every policy is different, and insurance companies may not pay you what you deserve. In many cases, hiring an insurance claim lawyer is necessary. This page breaks down the nuances of different types of insurance claims.
What Is a Property Insurance Claim?
A homeowner’s insurance policy is an agreement to protect the home from damage under specific occurrences. When you as a policyholder suffer a loss, you should find a dedicated Arkansas property insurance lawyer. Your legal advocate works on your claim to ensure that you receive the benefits necessary to repair or rebuild your Arkansas property.
If the insurer denies coverage or delays, policyholders should consult a property insurance attorney about a bad faith claim. If your claim goes to court and you win, you can often recover your court costs, attorney fees, and coverage benefits. There is also the possibility of recovering more money depending on the state laws under which you file your claim.
What Types Of Damage Claims Apply to Property Insurance?
Specific geographic regions impact the design of insurance policies. For example, Florida property insurance policies have more provisions for hurricanes versus earthquakes.
Everyone who lives in Arkansas knows that severe weather is part of life, especially in the spring and late fall. Thunderstorms can carry the threat of hail, flooding, and even tornados. All of which have the potential to damage your property. In fact, the National Weather Service reported 35 Arkansas tornadoes in 2021 alone. The last thing you want to worry about during a major storm is whether you have the right insurance coverage. According to the Arkansas Department of Agriculture, most homeowner’s policies do not cover flood damage. However, you may qualify for National Flood Insurance, depending on your location.
How to File a Property Insurance Claim in Arkansas
After you suffer a loss, you must contact your insurer as soon as possible. Taking this step begins the insurance claim process and gets things moving along. You need to notify your insurance company in writing or over the phone. From there, your insurer appoints a claim representative.
What to Expect Afterwards
Under Arkansas Insurance Rules and Regulations, the insurer must acknowledge your claim within 15 working days. In addition, within 20 days, they must provide you with all necessary forms and instructions. Once there is valid proof of loss, the insurer has 15 days to accept or deny the claim, unless they notify you that further investigation is necessary.
Once the investigation is complete, the insurer will offer you a settlement. Ideally, this will cover your repairs or replacement costs in full. However, it can be a shock if the settlement seems inadequate. According to the Arkansas Insurance Department, if this happens, your first step should be to try and work with your insurance company. You may want to have the adjuster meet with your contractor at the property to discuss the damage and repair costs. If you cannot reach an agreement, you can file a consumer complaint with the Insurance Department. They will address any violations by the insurance company. If this does not resolve the issue, you may need to think about litigation.
What Is an Auto Insurance Claim?
Auto insurance claims involve requesting compensation from an auto insurer after an accident. Car accidents are incredibly stressful, especially if there are uncooperative responsible parties. However, your insurer’s job is to work on your behalf to secure compensation for repairs, injuries and other expenses.
What Do You Do After a Car Accident?
All states have their own reporting requirements after a car accident. Typically, if there are injuries or major damage, someone will call 911 and police will respond to the scene. In addition, however, Arkansas law requires drivers to file a report with Arkansas’ Office of Driver Services within 30 days of an accident. Keep in mind that this law only applies to accidents that involve damages greater than $1,000 or any injuries.
You will also typically need to file an insurance claim. According to Wallethub, Arkansas follows the tort or fault doctrine for liability. Therefore, the at-fault driver’s insurance should pay for all damages and injuries. However, Arkansas also allows the option to add personal injury protection (PIP) to your policy. This provides for a quick payout by your insurance company without having to wait for a determination of fault. Once that determination is made, your insurance company can seek reimbursement from the at-fault driver.
Auto Claims Adjuster
Your auto insurance company will assign a claims adjuster to your claim report. Your adjuster acts as your representation in any mediation between you and all other involved parties. This insurance representative bears responsibility for investigating the claim and seeing that you receive compensation for any repairs or injuries.
Whether there are repair claims, personal injury claims, or you are dealing with someone who does not have insurance, your auto insurance adjuster should see you through the process. Your claims adjuster may recommend a garage to handle your vehicle repairs. They may also make arrangements for a rental vehicle if required. The most important thing to note is that your auto claim adjuster is your primary point of contact regarding the status of your claim in Arkansas.
Health Insurance Claims
Arkansas policyholders file health insurance claims when they seek reimbursement for medical services or treatments. When you obtain a medical service from a provider, your health insurance carrier should be notified directly. If there are any discrepancies in your claim, consider hiring a health insurance claim specialist attorney.
How Do You File a Health Claim in Arkansas?
There are two ways to file a health insurance claim on your behalf. The first is the medical facility notifies your insurer for you. You may be able to walk out of the facility without spending anything, but that depends on your policy. The other way is to file a health insurance claim yourself. Taking this route can occur when a health provider you use is not in your provider network. The facility may still file the claim on your behalf, but you may need to file it yourself.
Once you file your claim, either yourself or through your doctor, the insurer will respond with a breakdown of what they will pay. If you feel that your policy entitles you to more coverage than they offer, you have several options. Most insurance companies have an appeals procedure. According to the Consumer Services Division of the Arkansas Insurance Department, your denial or benefit explanation should include information about this process. If you cannot resolve the issue internally, you can file a complaint with the Insurance Department and request an external review. The review decision is binding, but it does not affect your rights to file a future civil suit against the insurer.
Work with an Experienced Local Insurance Lawyer in Arkansas
If your health insurance provider refuses to honor a claim, seek out a qualified Arkansas insurance claim attorney’s help. An insurance claim attorney can help if you have been improperly denied coverage or sent a bill for a service you never received. We can even help you connect with an attorney across Arkansas state lines.
Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!