Employment Law in West Palm Beach, FL
If you have suffered treatment from an employer in West Palm Beach, Florida that violates employment laws, learning more about the law can help. Hiring an employment law attorney can best help you navigate the process, and increase the chances of winning your case.
What Is Employment Law?
Employment law covers the rights, responsibilities, and obligations within the employer-employee relationship. Employment lawyers serve both employees and employers, though they generally focus their practice on serving one or the other. Regardless of who their clients are, their goal is to present a solid case and defend them.
Understanding Employment Law Labor Rights in West Palm Beach, Florida
Employees have a wide range of rights that employers cannot violate. If employers violate these rights, workers can file a complaint against them. Each state has unique labor laws and some also make provisions for qualifying independent contractors. Below are the most common topics covered in employment law across the country.
Wage and Hour Laws
Laws protect non-exempt employees from being forced to work for low wages and a certain amount of hours without increased pay. These are the wage and hour laws. They outline the minimum wages an employee can earn as well as the maximum amount of hours worked before qualifying employees should get paid overtime.
Florida, like every other state, has unique wage and hour laws. However, there are federal laws in place that are minimum requirements for all states. For example, the federal minimum wage is $7.25, but most states exceed that amount.
The Fair Labor Standards Act states that non-exempt employees can only work 40 hours per week at their regular wage rates. If they exceed that number, the employer must pay them overtime rates at a minimum of time and a half. Some states also require weekend overtime pay, holiday pay, and overtime for working more than a certain number of hours each day.
According to Florida State University, the hourly minimum wage in West Palm Beach and across the state is currently $8.65. In 2020, Florida voters approved increases to the state’s minimum wage. Specifically, the hourly minimum wage will increase yearly until it reaches $15 by 2026. Under Florida Statutes, any hours worked over 10 per day or 40 per week are required to be compensated as overtime. Overtime is calculated as 1½ times an employee’s regular wage. This means the minimum overtime rate in West Palm Beach is currently $12.98 per hour.
If you’ve been injured on the job in West Palm Beach, FL you might be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. This includes payments for lost wages and past or future medical bills that resulted from your workplace injury.
In order to be eligible for workers’ compensation, you must meet these requirements:
- You must be an employee.
- You must have a work-related illness or injury.
- Your employer must carry workers’ comp insurance.
- You must meet the deadline for filing workers’ comp claims.
There are, however, exceptions to these requirements that may still make you eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. However, if your employer is denying you benefits, you should contact a qualified West Palm Beach attorney for assistance with your case.
Termination Rights under West Palm Beach, Florida Employment Law
If you live in an at-will state, or your employment is “at-will,” meaning you can be terminated from your job without notice and without cause. However, even at-will employees have rights when it comes to termination. A violation of those rights can be wrongful termination.
Here are some reasons your termination might be wrongful even if you are an at-will employee:
- Written promises or contracts
- Implied promises
- Violations of public policy
- Breaches of good faith and fair dealing
- Workplace retaliation
- Whistleblowing violations
Employment in West Palm Beach is at-will, consistent with Florida law. Since Florida is a right-to-work state, employers cannot force a West Palm Beach employee to join a union or pay union dues as a condition of employment.
If you believe your termination was wrongful due to the above circumstances, then contact an experienced West Palm Beach, FL employment law attorney right away. This is because there are time constraints on how long you can wait to file a claim.
If you’ve lost your job, you can file for unemployment benefits with the state unemployment agency. The agency will either approve or deny your claim. Then, after approval, you’ll receive monthly unemployment checks and benefits in the mail after filing weekly unemployment claims. Still, unemployment claims can be denied for a number of reasons, including:
- If you were fired for misconduct.
- You voluntarily quit your job.
- You do not have enough earnings during the work period.
If your claim is denied, you can appeal the decision if you think it’s the wrong choice. Work with a qualified West Palm Beach attorney during the appeal process to improve your chances of winning the case.
Paid and Unpaid Time Off
Some states require paid time off as well as medical and family leave for employees. Oftentimes, this is combined into one singular paid time off, (PTO), amount. Laws can vary state-to-state, but typically PTO is accrued over time and you’ll get a set amount of PTO days per year.
Additionally, some states have laws that force the employer to pay for unused PTO. If you are not given proper PTO or your employer doesn’t follow your state’s medical or family leave laws, you can file a complaint.
According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, West Palm Beach employers are not required by state law to offer paid sick leave, vacation, or PTO. However, Florida law does require West Palm Beach employers to provide at least one day of unpaid jury duty leave. At least three days of leave are required if the employee is a victim of domestic violence. Furthermore, Florida protects reemployment rights for West Palm Beach members of the Florida National Guard following state active military duty.
Child Labor Laws
Child labor laws are a lot more strict than regular labor laws and require employers to be extra careful when scheduling minors. Each state has its own child labor laws that outline the number of hours a minor can work per week. These include how often they should have breaks, how many days in a row they can work, and how late they can work each night.
Florida’s Child Labor Law Poster must be posted wherever West Palm Beach minors are working. The poster details rules and regulations regarding hours and working conditions for minors. For example, children under 14 generally cannot legally work. Additionally, minors aged 14 and 15 cannot work before 7am or after 7pm on a school day. Furthermore, these minors cannot work before 7am or after 9pm when school is not in session. All minors cannot work in certain hazardous occupations. For instance, occupations involving working with explosives, electrical wiring, and unloading trucks.
West Palm Beach, Florida Employment Anti Discrimination Laws
A collection of federal anti-discrimination laws protect workers from employment discrimination. Following are brief descriptions of some of these anti-discrimination acts:
- Title VII of the Civil Rights Act: Prohibits employers from selecting job applicants and employees based on race, religion, color, sex, and national origin.
- Age Discrimination Act: Prohibits discrimination based on age for employees over the age of 40 years old.
- Pregnancy Discrimination Act: Prohibits employers from discriminating based on pregnancy, childbirth, or a related condition.
- Americans with Disabilities Act: Prohibits employers from discriminating against people with disabilities at any time during the application or hiring process or once the person holds the job.
- Equal Pay Act: Requires employers to give men and women equal pay for equal work.
If a coworker, employer, or client sexually harasses someone in the workplace; the employee has a set of rights to protect them from further harassment. Laws also offer protection from retaliation, such as getting fired for reporting a manager. If you or someone you know is facing sexual harassment in the workplace, report it to your HR department.
West Palm Beach employees are protected against sexual harassment in the workplace by the Florida Civil Rights Act. The Act provides protection against quid pro quo and hostile work environment harassment. Quid pro quo is when a person in authority seeks sexual favors in return for employment benefits. A hostile work environment happens when certain sexual behavior fosters an intimidating or offensive environment. However, private-sector employers in West Palm Beach do not have a requirement by state law to provide sexual harassment training. Sexual harassment training is a necessity for all supervisors in state government executive branch agencies.
Work With an Experienced Employment Lawyer in West Palm Beach, Florida
If you have employment law concerns, or you’re currently preparing for a case in West Palm Beach, FL then working with an experienced attorney can help. The hard part is finding the right one. We can even help you connect with an attorney across Florida state lines.
Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!