DUI Law in Kansas City, MO
What Is a DUI?
DUI, which refers to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, is a criminal offense that can lead to weighty consequences. Also known as DWI, the process of going to court to face either conviction or exoneration can change the course of your life forever.
Learn more about your DUI law defense options below, and then talk to a local attorney in Kansas City, Missouri who will help you in this delicate situation. You don’t have to stare down consequences alone. You can take wise steps today to protect your interests.
Possible Consequences of a Kansas City, Missouri DUI Conviction
Where you live, the severity of the incident, and your criminal record determine the sentencing for a DUI. The punishments can drastically increase if you have had previous DUIs, so be mindful of that. If this is your first DUI, do not go at it alone and risk costly mistakes. Get a Kansas City law firm on your side to fight for you and your rights.
If convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Kansas City, Missouri, you can count on fines being a part of your sentencing. In Missouri, a DUI is typically referred to as a DWI. The Missouri Department of Revenue states that DWI fines can range from $500 for a first offense to $5,000 for a third offense.
However, other factors can drastically increase the amount you must pay, including:
- Any damage to property while driving under the influence
- If someone suffered injuries as a result of your intoxicated driving
- Cases that include child endangerment
- Any court costs associated with your case
Jail time is mandatory, even for first-time offenders in Kansas City. If this is your first DUI offense, you may only have to face a day or two in prison. But if you have previous convictions for DUIs, you can be sentenced to several months or years, depending on the nature of the crime. Know that some circumstances can add even more time in a cell, including injury to other people while driving under the influence.
If you do not face jail time, you will likely be on probation, with the sentencing judge determining the duration. You will pay monthly fees, and you cannot commit any more criminal offenses, including traffic violations. If you violate the terms of your probation, count on facing time behind bars.
For your first DWI in Kansas City, Missouri probation length can range from six months to two years. A conviction with probation is commonly referred to as a Suspended Imposition of Sentence. Terms can include installation of an Ignition Interlock Device, community service, and alcohol/drug tests. In fact, you may even be prohibited from entering bars or liquor stores. Monthly probation fees are typically $30 per month and are paid to Jackson County Circuit Court. For residents of Kansas City, probation will be managed by the District 4 Probation and Parole Office. Violation of probation can result in a Probation Revocation Hearing and possible jail time.
Drug and Alcohol Education Program
Following a Kansas City DUI sentencing, the law states you must complete a drug and alcohol education program. This will teach you about the dangers of driving under the influence. These programs cost more fees besides the legal costs you already have to pay.
On your first DWI offense in Missouri, you will be ordered to complete DWI School. The Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program is administered by the Missouri Department of Mental Health and will satisfy this requirement. The Level I course for first offenders involves 10 hours of class and costs $200. The Level III course for repeat offenders requires 75 hours and costs $1,522.50. A list of certified program locations, including Kansas City, can be found on the Missouri Department of Mental Health site. Once you have completed a mandated course, license reinstatement requirements include a $65 fee and SR-22 insurance.
The education programs also include a DUI evaluation. An evaluator asks you questions about how alcohol and drugs affect your life. If they believe that you are dependent, you may have to enter a substance abuse treatment program.
Suspension or Loss of License
No matter where you may face a DUI conviction, you have to undergo a license suspension period, at the very least. If it is your first DUI, you may have a license suspension for a few months while you go through probation and the drug and alcohol education program.
If this is not your first DUI, you may have your license suspended for much longer, or you could have it taken from you permanently.
What Should You Do When Charged With a DUI in Kansas City, Missouri?
If you’re facing a felony DUI charge, you must take the following steps to protect yourself:
Step 1: Contact an Attorney Familiar With Kansas City, MO DUI Law
Immediately following your DUI arrest, you need to contact an experienced Kansas City DUI attorney. Your attorney can help prepare for your arraignment and prepare a defense to vindicate yourself or reduce the sentencing.
Step 2: Learn About Your Local DUI Laws
Kansas City, Missouri has unique laws for DUI or DWI charges. Your lawyer will work with you to help you better understand your state’s laws on driving while intoxicated. It is critical to understand what charges you face and the potential outcomes of your case.
Step 3: Request a DMV Hearing
You or your attorney should request a hearing as soon as possible following your arrest. In Kansas City, Missouri you only have so much time to ask for a DMV hearing to keep your license until your court appearance. If you do not request a hearing, prepare for a license suspension.
Upon arrest in Missouri, the officer will take your license and give you a Notice of Suspension or Revocation. The notice may include a 15-day driving permit. Consequently, you have only 15 days to submit a request (Form 2385) for a hearing to the Missouri Department of Revenue. Residents of Kansas City can request the hearing be held at the Kansas City Region 5 Office.
Step 4: Prepare for Court Appearance
You and your attorney will prepare for your appearance and arraignment in Kansas City. If you plead “not guilty,” your DUI defense attorney represents you in court, and a judge and jury oversee the DUI law case.
Step 5: Receive Sentencing or Exoneration
You will either be “not guilty” of the charges brought against you and walk free, or you will receive sentencing for a guilty verdict.
Work with an Experienced Local DUI Lawyer in Kansas City, Missouri
Should you ever find yourself charged with a DUI, you need to work with an experienced Kansas City, MO lawyer who can stand up for you in court. You cannot clear your name of the charges or reduce the consequences without help. Your life and future depend on having great legal representation during your DUI case. Contact an attorney near you today. We can even help you connect with legal help across Missouri state lines.
Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!