Were You Caught Driving Without A License? Hire a Local Attorney
What to Do If You Get Ticketed for Driving Without a License
Did the police recently pull you over and find that you did not have valid identification on you? If you searched for this page, you likely received more than just a strict warning. First, remain calm. We can walk you through everything you need to know. Driving without a license is a semi-serious situation, and you probably want to invest in a lawyer to best explain the offense to you. We can connect you with a local lawyer well-versed in traffic laws and moving violations.
Common Driver’s License Violations
Driving without a license is more common than you think. Though it is illegal in every state, most people do not think twice about having their license on them before hopping into the car. If this is your first offense and you have no prior convictions, then it is unlikely for you to get anything above an infraction or a misdemeanor. Driving without a license comes with different violations, and punishment rises with severity.
No Proof of Driver’s License
It is not unusual for a person to leave her or his driver’s license somewhere it does not belong. It is as simple as forgetting your wallet at home, and suddenly, you inadvertently violate the law. Officers have become more lenient and can usually look up your license with a valid Social Security number. Unfortunately, states do not share information. If you are out of state, then expect a warning or ticket.
No Valid License
You make a quick run to the store. You have been driving for months with a suspended license, but you do not have another way to get to work or get essentials. It just takes one moving violation to find yourself in court or, worse, jail.
A non-valid license includes revoked, expired or suspended licenses. Many people have good reasons for driving without a valid license, but officers do not see the gray area. Not having a valid license is more severe than driving without proof of a license. As a result, violating motorists can expect heftier fees and consequences.
No Valid License for Another Driver
Never let a friend or family member drive your vehicle without a valid license. Not only is it illegal, but you bear responsibility for any accidents or damages the driver causes. Do not expect your insurance policy to cover an unlicensed driver, but you can expect to foot the bill for resulting charges. You paying out of pocket for all fees, damages to your car, damages to other vehicles and all additional involved costs. You can even go to jail for the other driver’s mistakes. It is unfair, but it happens more often than you may think.
Unlicensed Underage Driver
Driving without a license is not possible, and there are no exceptions. Being over your state’s legal driving age does not permit you to get behind the wheel unlicensed. A practice permit is not a full license, and you do not have the same privileges as a licensed driver. If you get caught driving underage, your parent or guardian must come to pick you up. If your guardian is unavailable, then the police can impound the car, and you may receive a fine.
Consequences by State
The penalty for driving without a license depends on the state. It is best to check to see what fines you could face in your state. Here are a few examples:
Ohio: Misdemeanor– $1,000
Indiana: Felony– up to $10,000
Texas: Misdemeanor– up to $2,000
California: up to $1,000 fine
Florida: Misdemeanor– up to $5,000
If this is at least your second offense, you can expect stricter consequences. Other consequences include vehicle impoundment, license revocation for additional time, seized license plates, vehicle forfeiture and additional fines. The maximum fine for a conviction of driving without a valid driver’s license is up to $25,000 in the state of Illinois. You can receive a five-year prison sentence with a felony charge. Both scenarios are extremely rare and are the maximum punishments for driving without a valid license.
When to Hire an Attorney
Your Miranda rights protect you from incriminating yourself, so wait to speak until you hire an attorney. First-time offenders can hire an attorney to dismiss a ticket in traffic court. It is unnecessary at this stage, but many people worried about having a ticket or charge on their permanent record do so, anyway. If you face a misdemeanor charge, it is a good idea to hire an attorney. It is in your best interest to seek professional help if you face more severe charges.
What Will an Attorney Do for Me?
Your attorney represents you in court, protects your amendment rights, and understands the legal charges. An attorney also acts as your voice and defends your case. Your legal advocate answers questions you may have and also negotiates a lesser sentence or charge. If you cannot attend your court hearing, or if this is your first time through the legal process, then you should hire an attorney.
Work With an Experienced Local Lawyer
Have any other legal questions? Talk to one of our experienced lawyers today. We have legal professionals all over the country who specialize in several areas of law, including moving violations. You no longer have to search for “lawyers near me”. At Request Legal Help, we connect you with the top lawyers in your area. Just fill out the form at the top of the page to start the matching process. A member of our service team contacts you for additional details before connecting you with an attorney who can help.
Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!