DUI Law in Tuscaloosa, AL

What Is a DUI?

Driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics in Tuscaloosa can cause considerable damage to your vehicle, property, and other people. Even if you are fortunate and don’t cause any physical harm, you could still receive a DUI and risk damage to your vehicle operating status, your credit, and reputation. If you have received a DUI in Tuscaloosa, it may be in your best interest to contact an experienced DUI lawyer.

Possible Consequences of  Tuscaloosa, Alabama DUI Convictions

Where you live, the severity of the incident, and your criminal record determine the sentencing for a DUI. The punishments can drastically increase if you have had previous DUIs, so be mindful of that. If this is your first DUI, do not go at it alone and risk costly mistakes. Get a Tuscaloosa law firm on your side to fight for you and your rights.

Paying Fines

If convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, you can count on fines being a part of your sentencing. DUI USA states that a fine for DUI in Tuscaloosa can range anywhere from $600 to $2,100.

However, other factors can drastically increase the amount you must pay, including:

  • Any damage to property while driving under the influence
  • If someone suffered injuries as a result of your intoxicated driving
  • Cases that include child endangerment
  • Any court costs associated with your case

Jail Time

Jail time is mandatory, even for first-time offenders in Tuscaloosa. If this is your first DUI offense, you may only have to face a day or two in prison. But if you have previous convictions for DUIs, you can be sentenced to several months or years, depending on the nature of the crime. Know that some circumstances can add even more time in a cell, including injury to other people while driving under the influence.


If you do not face jail time, you will likely be on probation, with the sentencing judge determining the duration. You will pay monthly fees, and you cannot commit any more criminal offenses, including traffic violations. If you violate the terms of your probation, count on facing time behind bars.

Alabama Probation states that you must follow the terms of your probation, to the letter, or risk having it revoked and your original sentence imposed upon you. It is common for a judge to show leniency by handing down community service or requiring that you complete Alcoholics Anonymous as a condition of your probation.

Drug and Alcohol Education Program

Following a Tuscaloosa DUI sentencing, the law states you must complete a drug and alcohol education program. This will teach you about the dangers of driving under the influence. These programs cost more fees besides the legal costs you already have to pay.

According to the Alabama Department of Revenue, Tuscaloosa residents have to pay a fee of $200 to reinstate a license after a first suspension. For every subsequent suspension the fee becomes $400. Courts may also require you to comply and provide certain documentation to regain your driving privileges. Requirements such as a certificate of completion of a drug and alcohol abuse program, or documentation of insurance coverage. You will also have to pay any outstanding court fees.

The education programs also include a DUI evaluation. An evaluator asks you questions about how alcohol and drugs affect your life. If they believe that you are dependent, you may have to enter a substance abuse treatment program.

Suspension or Loss of License

No matter where you may face a DUI conviction, you have to undergo a license suspension period, at the very least. If it is your first DUI, you may have a license suspension for a few months while you go through probation and the drug and alcohol education program.

If this is not your first DUI, you may have your license suspended for much longer, or you could have it taken from you permanently.

What Should You Do When Charged With a DUI in Tuscaloosa, Alabama?

If you’re facing a felony DUI charge, you must take the following steps to protect yourself:

Step 1: Contact an Attorney Familiar With   DUI Law

Immediately following your DUI arrest, you need to contact an experienced Tuscaloosa DUI attorney. Your attorney can help prepare for your arraignment and prepare a defense to vindicate yourself or reduce the sentencing.  These are just some of the things that you can expect from a DUI lawyer.

Step 2: Learn About Your Local DUI Laws

Tuscaloosa, Alabama has unique laws for DUI or DWI charges. Your lawyer will work with you to help you better understand your state’s laws on driving while intoxicated. It is critical to understand what charges you face and the potential outcomes of your case. 

Step 3: Request a DMV Hearing

You or your attorney should request a hearing as soon as possible following your arrest. In Tuscaloosa, Alabama you only have so much time to ask for a DMV hearing to keep your license until your court appearance. If you do not request a hearing, prepare for a license suspension.

The Tuscaloosa County License Office is the site for the majority of hearings regarding driver’s licenses. While you do not have to have an attorney present, you may engage the services of a Tuscaloosa attorney to represent you at these hearings. However, time is of the essence when filing for a hearing, as most hearings will be denied if you file more than 10 days after receiving a DUI.

Step 4: Prepare for Court Appearance

You and your attorney will prepare for your appearance and arraignment in Tuscaloosa. If you plead “not guilty,” your DUI defense attorney represents you in court, and a judge and jury oversee the DUI law case.

Step 5: Receive Sentencing or Exoneration

You will either be “not guilty” of the charges brought against you and walk free, or you will receive sentencing for a guilty verdict.

Work with an Experienced Local DUI Lawyer in Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Should you ever find yourself charged with a DUI in Alabama, you need to work with an experienced Tuscaloosa lawyer who can stand up for you in court. You cannot clear your name of the charges or reduce the consequences without help. Your life and future depend on having great legal representation during your DUI case. Contact an attorney near you today. We can even help you connect with legal help across Alabama state lines.

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.