DUI Law in Juneau, AK

Did you know a DUI conviction stays on your record for life in Alaska?

Many states have a way to wipe the slate clean after a few years. However, a guilty verdict for this crime in Juneau stays with you forever. This harsh reality means each step you take after an arrest carries significant weight. You need to understand the details below to give yourself and your attorney every opportunity to mitigate your risks.

What Is a DUI?

DUI, which refers to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, is a criminal offense that can lead to weighty consequences. Also known as DWI, the process of going to court to face either conviction or exoneration can change the course of your life forever.

Learn more about your DUI law defense options below, and then talk to a local attorney in Juneau, Alaska who will help you in this delicate situation. You don’t have to stare down the consequences alone. You can take wise steps today to protect your interests.

Possible Consequences of  Juneau, Alaska DUI Convictions

Where you live, the severity of the incident and your criminal record determine the sentencing for a DUI. Punishments can drastically increase if you have had previous convictions, so be mindful of that.

If this is your first DUI, do not go at it alone and risk costly mistakes. Get a Juneau law firm to fight for you and your rights.

Paying Fines

If convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Juneau, Alaska, you can count on fines being a part of your sentencing. A judiciary in Juneau will issue a minimum fine of $1,5000 for your first DUI. The most that Alaska courts can sentence you to pay is $25,000. However, these numbers do not include other legal costs like attorney fees.

However, other factors can drastically increase the amount you must pay, including:

  • Any damage to property while driving under the influence
  • If someone suffered injuries as a result of your intoxicated driving
  • Cases that include child endangerment
  • Any court costs associated with your case

Jail Time

Jail time is mandatory, even for first-time offenders in Juneau. If this is your first DUI offense, you may only have to face a day or two in prison. But if you have previous convictions for DUIs, you can be sentenced to several months or years, depending on the nature of the crime. Know that some circumstances can add even more time in a cell, including injury to other people.


If you do not face jail time, you will likely be on probation, with the sentencing judge determining the duration. You will pay monthly fees, and you cannot commit any more criminal offenses, including traffic violations. If you violate the terms of your probation, count on facing time behind bars.

Alaska law has an extensive list of restrictions a judge in Juneau can impose on probationers. While the details depend on what happens at sentencing, some requirements are:

  • Drug testing
  • Community service
  • Rehabilitation programs
  • Fines and restitution payments

The penalties for probation violations increase with each incident. The current statutes escalate the first few violations from three days in prison to thirty.

Drug and Alcohol Education Program

Following a Juneau DUI sentencing, the law states you must complete a drug and alcohol education program. This class will teach you about the dangers of driving under the influence, and you will have to pay the fees for it.

For example, a judge can order you to participate in the Alcohol Safety Action Program. This service from the Division of Behavioral Health holds you accountable and tracks your progress. This process can involve many trips to Juneau ASAP to meet the obligations of the court system.

The education programs also include a DUI evaluation. An evaluator asks you questions about how alcohol and drugs affect your life. If they believe that you are dependent, you may have to enter a substance abuse treatment program.

Suspension or Loss of License

No matter where you may face a DUI conviction, you have to undergo a license suspension period. If it is your first DUI, you may have a license suspension for a few months while you go through probation and the drug and alcohol education program.

If this is not your first DUI, you may have your license suspended for much longer, or you could have it taken from you permanently.

What Should You Do When Charged With a DUI in Juneau, Alaska?

If you’re facing a felony DUI charge, you must take the following steps to protect yourself:

Step 1: Contact an Attorney Familiar With   DUI Law

Immediately following your DUI arrest, you need to contact an experienced Juneau DUI attorney. Your attorney can help prepare for your arraignment and prepare a defense to vindicate yourself or reduce the sentencing.

Step 2: Learn About Your Local DUI Laws

Juneau, Alaska has unique laws for DUI or DWI charges. Your lawyer will work with you to help you better understand your state’s laws on driving while intoxicated. It is critical to understand what charges you face and the potential outcomes of your case. 

Step 3: Request a DMV Hearing

You or your attorney should request a hearing as soon as possible following your arrest. In Juneau, Alaska you only have so much time to ask for a DMV hearing to keep your license until your court appearance. If you do not request a hearing, prepare for a license suspension.

Motorists with a DWI will face a hearing officer from the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles. You do not have to bring a DUI attorney from Juneau. However, having legal representation will help you present a more effective case.

Step 4: Prepare for Court Appearance

You and your attorney will prepare for your appearance and arraignment in Juneau. If you plead “not guilty,” your DUI defense attorney represents you in court, and a judge and jury oversee the DUI law case.

Step 5: Receive Sentencing or Exoneration

You will either be “not guilty” of the charges brought against you and walk free, or you will receive sentencing for a guilty verdict.

Work With an Experienced Local DUI Lawyer in Juneau, Alaska

Should you ever find yourself charged with a DUI in Alaska, you need to work with an experienced Juneau lawyer. You cannot clear your name or reduce the consequences without help. Furthermore, your life and future may depend on having great legal representation. 

Contact us through our website or call (866) 345-6784 today to meet with a highly-qualified lawyer near you! We can even help you connect with legal help across Alaska state lines.

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.