DUI Law in Fairbanks, AK

What Is a DUI?

Anyone can make a mistake, but receiving a DUI can be a particularly costly one. Driving under the influence can be dangerous to your life, as well as the lives of those around you. Even if there is no physical injury or property damage there can still be stiff financial penalties. If you are facing a DUI in Fairbanks you may want to consult with an experienced Fairbanks attorney.

Possible Consequences of  Fairbanks, Alaska DUI Convictions

Where you live, the severity of the incident, and your criminal record determine the sentencing for a DUI. The punishments can drastically increase if you have had previous DUIs, so be mindful of that. If this is your first DUI, do not go at it alone and risk costly mistakes. Get a Fairbanks law firm on your side to fight for you and your rights.

Paying Fines

If convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Fairbanks, Alaska, you can count on fines being a part of your sentencing. The Alaska DMV states that the minimum fine for a DUI is based on the number of offenses. Your first offense can bring a fine of $1,500, but a fourth offense can bring a minimum fine of $10,000. However, repeat offenders can also face the maximum fine of $25,000.

However, other factors can drastically increase the amount you must pay, including:

  • Any damage to property while driving under the influence
  • If someone suffered injuries as a result of your intoxicated driving
  • Cases that include child endangerment
  • Any court costs associated with your case

Jail Time

Jail time is mandatory, even for first-time offenders in Fairbanks. If this is your first DUI offense, you may only have to face a day or two in prison. But if you have previous convictions for DUIs, you can be sentenced to several months or years, depending on the nature of the crime. Know that some circumstances can add even more time in a cell, including injury to other people while driving under the influence.


If you do not face jail time, you will likely be on probation, with the sentencing judge determining the duration. You will pay monthly fees, and you cannot commit any more criminal offenses, including traffic violations. If you violate the terms of your probation, count on facing time behind bars.

For those living in Fairbanks who have had their first DUI, there is a chance at leniency with the courts. If you allow an ignition interlock device to be installed, you could see your sentence reduced to a license revocation of 30 days. You’ll be expected to maintain proper behavior while on probation, such as not committing any further crimes or violations, and appearing at any probationary hearings. The Probation Office in Fairbanks is located at 455 3rd Avenue.

Drug and Alcohol Education Program

Following a Fairbanks DUI sentencing, the law states you must complete a drug and alcohol education program. This will teach you about the dangers of driving under the influence. These programs cost more fees besides the legal costs you already have to pay.

One of the terms of your probation may be the requirement to undergo drug and alcohol abuse courses. These are designed to help you realize the impact that substance can have on you and those around you. At the very minimum, you will have to take part in the Alaska Safety Action Program, as this is a requirement for all those that receive a DUI in Fairbanks.

The education programs also include a DUI evaluation. An evaluator asks you questions about how alcohol and drugs affect your life. If they believe that you are dependent, you may have to enter a substance abuse treatment program.

Suspension or Loss of License

No matter where you may face a DUI conviction, you have to undergo a license suspension period, at the very least. If it is your first DUI, you may have a license suspension for a few months while you go through probation and the drug and alcohol education program.

If this is not your first DUI, you may have your license suspended for much longer, or you could have it taken from you permanently.

What Should You Do When Charged With a DUI in Fairbanks, Alaska?

If you’re facing a felony DUI charge, you must take the following steps to protect yourself:

Step 1: Contact an Attorney Familiar With   DUI Law

Immediately following your DUI arrest, you need to contact an experienced Fairbanks DUI attorney. Your attorney can help prepare for your arraignment and prepare a defense to vindicate yourself or reduce the sentencing.

Step 2: Learn About Your Local DUI Laws

Fairbanks, Alaska has unique laws for DUI or DWI charges. Your lawyer will work with you to help you better understand your state’s laws on driving while intoxicated. It is critical to understand what charges you face and the potential outcomes of your case. 

Step 3: Request a DMV Hearing

You or your attorney should request a hearing as soon as possible following your arrest. In Fairbanks, Alaska you only have so much time to ask for a DMV hearing to keep your license until your court appearance. If you do not request a hearing, prepare for a license suspension.

When you receive a DUI in Fairbanks you will either have your license revoked or suspended immediately. You can request a hearing with the Alaska Department of Administration, but this request must be filed within 7 days of losing your license. An experienced Fairbanks attorney can help you as you fight to get your license back.

Step 4: Prepare for Court Appearance

You and your attorney will prepare for your appearance and arraignment in Fairbanks. If you plead “not guilty,” your DUI defense attorney represents you in court, and a judge and jury oversee the DUI law case.

Step 5: Receive Sentencing or Exoneration

You will either be “not guilty” of the charges brought against you and walk free, or you will receive sentencing for a guilty verdict.

Work with an Experienced Local DUI Lawyer in Fairbanks, Alaska

Should you ever find yourself charged with a DUI, you need to work with an experienced Fairbanks lawyer who can stand up for you in court. You cannot clear your name of the charges or reduce the consequences without help. Your life and future depend on having great legal representation during your DUI case. Contact an attorney near you today. We can even help you connect with legal help across Alaska state lines.

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.