DUI Law in Chandler, AZ

What Is a DUI?

Motorists in Chandler that drive under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol can face significant consequences. Even lesser cases can result in some time in jail and thousands of dollars in fines.

A local attorney is necessary to defend yourself in these situations. Without proper legal help, you could receive more significant penalties than you would otherwise. Additionally, you or a loved one will likely need the details below.

Possible Consequences of Chandler, Arizona DUI Convictions

The consequences of a DUI offense depend on several factors, such as prior criminal history. If you have previous convictions, the penalties can be considerably more severe.

If this arrest is your first DUI charge, it’s advisable not to handle it alone. Instead, seek the support of a Chandler law firm to defend your rights and advocate on your behalf.

Paying Fines

If you are guilty of a DUI in Chandler, Arizona, fines will be part of the sentence.

For a first-time DUI offense in Chandler, the fine can be between $1,250 and $2,500. However, if your blood alcohol concentration exceeds .15%, the minimum is $2,500. Subsequent DUI offenses incur much more elevated fines, starting at $3,250 for a second offense or higher.

  • Apart from fines, other factors can raise the amount one must pay in Chandler, Arizona. These elements include damage to property, injuries to others resulting, or child endangerment.

Jail Time

In Chandler, even first-time DUI offenders can be subject to mandatory jail time. The length of the sentence will depend on the circumstances of the case. But it may only be one or two days. Nevertheless, the judge can order several months or even years for repeat offenses or injuring others.


If you are not subject to incarceration, you will probably be on probation. The length of the sentence is the purview of the sentencing judge. You will pay fees, and you must refrain from engaging in any further criminal activities. If you fail to adhere to the terms of your probation, you should expect to serve time in jail.

In Chandler, probationers must adhere to specific conditions to stay on probation. The details vary and depend on the type of crime committed or the offender’s criminal record. But some of the common conditions include:

  • Reporting to a probation officer
  • Paying fines and restitution
  • Submitting to drug and alcohol testing
  • Refraining from drug and alcohol use
  • Attending counseling or treatment programs
  • Completing community service
  • Avoiding contact with criminals or designated locations
  • Restricting travel outside of the state or country
  • Abiding by a curfew
  • Surrendering firearms

Drug and Alcohol Education Program

After receiving a sentence for a DUI in Chandler, you must attend a drug and alcohol education program. This course educates you about the hazards of driving while under the influence. Apart from the legal fees, you must pay additional fees to attend.

ADOT publishes a list of approved providers for these courses. There are several in the Phoenix area to choose from, including these current examples:

  • Arcadia Counseling & Psychotherapy Services
  • Community Support Services
  • Correctional Services Corporation
  • Elevation Health Services

Instructors complete a DUI evaluation as part of the program. They will ask how drugs and alcohol play a role in your life. If they believe you are dependent, you may have a requirement to check into rehabilitation.

Suspension or Loss of License

You will serve a license suspension in most cases, regardless of where you receive a DUI. This loss of driving privileges could only be for a few months for a first-time DUI offense.

You could face a more severe license suspension period. This eventuality is more likely with prior convictions. Furthermore, the state may revoke your license permanently.

What Should You Do When Charged With a DUI in Chandler, Arizona?

You must take the following measures to safeguard yourself after receiving DUI charges: 

Step 1: Contact an Attorney Familiar With   DUI Law

After getting arrested for a DUI, it is important to seek the help of a skilled DUI attorney in Chandler. They can assist in preparing for the arraignment and developing a defense strategy.

Step 2: Learn About Your Local DUI Laws

Understanding the laws surrounding DUI or DWI charges is important in Chandler, Arizona. Consulting with a lawyer can help you comprehend your state’s laws and the charges you face. Moreover, you will recognize the possible outcomes.

Step 3: Request a DMV Hearing

If you face a DUI or DWI conviction in Chandler, Arizona, it is critical to request a DMV hearing. Failure to do so could result in a license suspension before your court appearance. Your attorney can help you with the request and represent you to try to maintain your license.

Take the following steps to request a driver’s license hearing after a DUI arrest in Chandler:

  • Provide your personal information.
  • Pay the required fee.
  • Prepare for the hearing. Gather evidence and witness statements to support your case.
  • Attend the hearing and raise your arguments to the MVD hearing officer.
  • Wait for the hearing officer’s decision.

Step 4: Prepare for Court Appearance

Your attorney will assist you in preparing for your appearance and arraignment in Chandler. If you plead “not guilty,” your DUI defense attorney will represent you in court. A judge and jury will make the final decision about your DUI case.

Step 5: Receive Sentencing or Exoneration

The outcome of your case in Chandler will result in either a ” not guilty” or a guilty verdict and sentencing.

Work With an Experienced Local DUI Lawyer in Chandler, Arizona

If you have a DUI charge, it is paramount to seek the services of an experienced attorney in Chandler. This criminal jeopardy can have serious consequences, and you may not be able to clear your name or reduce the penalties without help.

Contact a lawyer near you today, and we can even help you find legal help across Arizona state lines. You can submit a request online or call us at (866) 345-6784.

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.

Secured & Trusted