Lemon Law in Utah

According to ABC4, Utah carried a 17.8% year-over-year increase in the price of used cars. As a result, residents will pay an average of $32,342 to pick up a reliable automobile in 2022.

A car or truck is often the second most significant investment Americans make in their lives. Appropriately, this fact motivates you to get the most out of your hard-earned money. But, what can you do when you realize the machine is inadequate? Discover the legal options available using the facts contained in this article.

What Is a Lemon Law?

Lemon laws deal with consumer protections that are particularly applicable to automobile purchases. For any lemon law to apply, the automobile must suffer from a defect. This problem should be outside the purchaser’s control, like a manufacturer issue. Furthermore, lemon laws apply if a certain number of reasonable repairs happened to the vehicle in question to no avail.

When Do Utah Lemon Laws Apply?

Lemon laws only apply when the vehicle in question is under warranty. This restriction does not mean it has to have a new guarantee. There are often dealership warranties attached to certified used cars. Under the federal lemon law requirements, conditions must meet the following criteria:

  • The manufacturer attempted to fix the issue on several occasions. Note that the number of conditions that merit a lemon law application can vary based on the court’s opinion.
  • There have been attempts to address the issue(s) in question within the first two years of owning and operating the vehicle.
  • The car has been out of service for at least 30 days. Note that the days do not have to be consecutive.

How Do You Ensure the Application of Lemon Laws?

There are some common practices that you can take that better position you when citing lemon law:

  • You should only take the vehicle in question to the corresponding dealership for repairs. By taking it there, you establish credibility by showing the responsible party attempted to address the issue. If you take the vehicle to a mom-and-pop mechanic, the manufacturer cannot be held liable for any attempts made to fix the problem.
  • Keep accurate and detailed records of any repairs made. This way, if your case goes to trial, have accurate logs that detail the manufacturer’s opportunities to fix the mechanical issues. This detail also helps build a timeline of how long you could not use your vehicle.

Lemon law statutes vary by state. You should research the lemon law requirements in Utah to ensure you remain within the legal confines.

The Division of Motor Vehicles reports that Utah’s lemon laws focus on the non-conformity of a vehicle. For instance, there could be a malfunction that does not comply with the warranty. Alternatively, an issue that affects the value, safety, or use qualifies. If the problem happened as a result of these factors, you do not have a legal right to a refund or replacement:

  • Accidents
  • Neglect
  • Alterations to the motor
  • Other modifications not completed by the manufacturer or dealer

What Exactly Are Consumers Entitled To Under Lemon Laws?

You have a legal entitlement to a replacement vehicle or refund if Utah lemon laws apply. However, manufacturers may deduct a fee in proportion to the miles the owner put on the car or truck before it became unusable. This compensation should include:

  • Down payment
  • Registration
  • Taxes
  • Car rentals
  • Monthly payments
  • Tow expenses
  • Attorney costs

Do Lemon Laws Apply to Used Vehicles?

Lemon laws can apply to used vehicles. However, this is for written warranties distributed along with the vehicle upon sale. Often, a used car dealership sells vehicles with a portion of the guarantee remaining. This situation incentivizes the purchase and (allegedly) puts the buyer’s mind at ease.

KSL reports that Utah does not have legislation that applies to used vehicles. Motorists with a defective automobile may turn to the federal courts under the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act. A local lemon law lawyer is best-qualified to assess your case’s viability to use this option.

When Should You Hire a qualified Utah Lemon Law Attorney?

Have you attempted to have your vehicle repaired at the dealership? Consumers should consider legal action when it doesn’t work for 30 days. If you can’t resolve the issue with the manufacturer, it may be time to bring in an experienced Utah lemon law attorney.

How Does the Lemon Law Litigation Process Work?

Consumers can expect to go through a series of motions by bringing in an experienced Utah lawyer. However, introducing legal counsel into the situation is the best way for consumers to receive a fair outcome. With most Utah lemon law attorneys, you can expect the following:

  • Free Case Evaluation – Attorneys should review your case for free. They will determine its merit and whether you have a justifiable claim.
  • Filing Your Claim – Your Utah legal representative should handle filing a claim with the manufacturer after determining the facts.
  • Further Action – Your vehicle’s manufacturer may refuse to comply with the claim under federal and state statutes. Then your attorney files suit to seek entitled compensation on your behalf.
  • Pursuing Settlement – The manufacturer should cover all costs and fees if you achieve a settlement before trial. This compensation will often include attorney fees.
  • Contingency Fee Basis – At the end of the ordeal, clients should not have to pay for attorney’s fees. Even if you ultimately lose your case, a reputable Utah law firm should not charge clients fees. If you win your case, the manufacturer pays the attorney’s fees.

Claims for vehicles worth up to $15,000 may go to a small claims court through January 1, 2025. This threshold for jurisdiction will increase to $20,000 in 2030. Car sales worth more than this amount become adjudicated by one of the Utah District Courts.

Work With an Experienced Local Lawyer In Utah

Do you need immediate help? Then one of our experienced lawyers in Utah can help guide you through the Lemon Law litigation process. We can even help you connect with an attorney across Utah state lines!

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.