Workers Compensation in Utah

You aren’t alone if you wonder how workers comp works. Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance that provides wage and medical benefits to people who have become ill or injured while at work. The extent of workers’ comp coverage an employer is required to carry is governed by Utah state law. Thus, in trying to figure out how workers comp works, it helps to understand the laws on the books in the state where the business operates. If the injury or illness a worker sustains is eligible for compensation, the insurance carrier should help ease the financial burden the illness or injury created on the worker. Learn some of the basic principles of Utah workers’ compensation insurance and how the process works.

Workers Compensation Statistics in Utah?

According to the Utah Labor Commission, the industries with the highest rate of injuries are leisure & hospitality and educational & health services. Primary causes of work-related injury in Utah are overexertion, falls, and contact with objects or equipment. Typically, the most common types of injuries are sprains, strains, and tears. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that fatal work injuries in Utah most commonly occur as a result of transportation incidents. Industries with the most work-related fatalities are natural resource, construction, and maintenance occupations. 

How Does Workers Comp Work in Utah?

There is a standard practice to follow when going through the Utah workers’ compensation process. Unfortunately, it begins with you getting sick or injured on the job. The circumstances surrounding the incident that led to the injury are especially crucial. The injury had to occur during the course of your regular work duties. It could also occur while you were performing a special task at the request of your boss. 

Employers in Utah are required to carry workers compensation insurance, with some limited exceptions for independent contractors and sole proprietors. Utah also excludes some agricultural employees, domestic employees, and real estate or insurance brokers from its workers compensation program. All reasonable and necessary medical treatment is covered, as long as an authorized provider is used. Also note that death benefits are covered for fatal injuries. For temporary disability, weekly compensation is paid at 66% of the employee’s wage over the prior year. The minimum weekly disability amount is $45, and the maximum can be anywhere from $468 to $702, depending on disability type.  Settlements are permitted, but must be approved by the Utah Labor Commission.

The steps you take immediately following a workplace incident in Utah are critical for purposes of filing a claim for compensation. Follow the following steps to preserve your rights and learn how workers comp works.

Get Medical Attention

After you get injured or feel ill, the first step is to see a doctor. Don’t delay receiving help from a Utah healthcare professional. This could not only jeopardize your health, but you run the risk of missing time-sensitive deadlines in the workers’ compensation process.

Even if you believe that your injury is minor, get a proper medical report detailing the extent of the damage and how it occurred. This is the first step in the workers’ compensation claim process. Absent a medical report, your employer cannot file a claim with the insurance carrier.

When dealing with a job-related illness, the symptoms and diagnosis may not happen right away. You may find yourself attending regular checkups and testing for weeks or months. Long before a doctor finally associates your illness with your job. All of your medical records will become the foundation from which the workers’ comp carrier will launch its investigation. Your doctor may make the determination that the illness is the result of your work conditions or aggravated by them. Once they do, see your human resources representative to file a workers’ compensation claim.

File a First Report of Injury

Once you have a medical diagnosis relating your illness or injury to your job, you must file a claim with your employer. This is the next important phase of how Utah workers comp works.

The Utah Labor Commission requires that, after a workplace injury in Utah, you have 180 days to provide notice of the injury to your employer. There is also a one year deadline to file a claim for medical or death benefits. Dates are typically calculated from the date of the injury or the date of the discovery of the injury, whichever is later.

The first report of an on the job injury or illness will provide the workers’ compensation insurance carrier with the details of the events leading up to the injury. In this report, you will provide your physical injuries, the medical treatment you received and the facilities that provided it. It’s always a good idea to submit a copy of the doctor’s report  with the report of injury.

Your employer should furnish you with information about the claims process. The adjuster or insurance carrier representative may want to speak to you at some point. Most likely about the incident and any possible witnesses to the event. 

Under Utah law, temporary disability compensation is limited to a total of 312 weeks in the 12 year period following the injury. Permanent disability can result in longer benefits, but the amount paid may decrease after 312 weeks.

Why You Should Hire a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

In learning how Utah workers comp works, many people believe that the injury claims process is straightforward. While this may be the case in some instances, in others, it may be more of a hassle. For instance, your employer may question whether you were hurt on the clock or on your own time. The company may also start to question the extent of your injury. There may even arise pay disputes and long-term care dictated by the doctor. Don’t question how workers comp works and risk losing your claim. Hire a Utah workers’ comp lawyer and ensure you have an advocate to fight for your rights as a victim.

Work With an Experienced Local Lawyer in Utah

Your health and wellbeing need to come first. If you are hurt while working or find out an illness you are suffering is the result of your job, you will want to seek compensation. Since the workers’ compensation claims process may be tricky, you should consider getting a local attorney well versed in how to deal with it. We can even help you connect with an attorney across Utah state lines. They can guide you while you continue to learn how workers comp works.

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.

Secured & Trusted