Workers Compensation in Colorado Springs, CO

You aren’t alone if you ask “How does workers comp work?” Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance that provides wage and medical benefits to people who have become ill or injured while at work. The extent of workers’ comp coverage an employer is required to carry is governed by Colorado state law. Thus, in trying to figure out how workers comp works, it helps to understand the laws on the books in the state where the business operates. If the injury or illness a worker sustains is eligible for compensation, the insurance carrier should help ease the financial burden the illness or injury created on the worker. Learn some of the basic principles of Colorado Springs, CO workers’ compensation insurance and how the process works.

Workers Compensation Statistics in Colorado Springs, Colorado?

Data from the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment indicates that the industries with the most injuries in Colorado Springs are administration, retail, transportation, and construction. The majority of these work injuries are sprains and strains, typically caused by twisting, lifting, or repetitive motion. Falls and contact with objects or equipment also account for a large number of work related injuries. According to the Colorado Department of Public Health, more than 50% of work-related injury claims involve more than 10 days of missed work.

How Does Workers Comp Work in Colorado Springs, Colorado?

Unfortunately, going through the process of applying for workers’ compensation begins with getting sick or injured on the job. The circumstances surrounding the incident that led to your problems are especially crucial. For example, the injury had to occur during your regular work duties. While an event that happens during your lunch break wouldn’t apply, getting into a car accident while running an errand for your boss would qualify for a claim. 

Colorado requires all employers to carry workers compensation insurance. All reasonable and necessary medical expenses are covered, but the physician must be approved by your employer. In addition, you can also receive compensation for lost wages if more than three shifts are missed. According to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, lost wages are paid at a rate of ⅔ of the average weekly wage. However, the maximum weekly payment is $1022. In the event of a fatal injury, weekly death benefits and funeral expenses are provided.

For example, say your supervisor asked you to drop something off on your lunch break. While running this errand you then get in a car accident on your way to the destination. Any resulting injury is eligible for workers’ compensation. However, if you are on your lunch break, performing no such task when you get in an accident, it does not qualify for a claim.

The steps you take immediately following a workplace incident in Colorado Springs, CO are critical for purposes of filing a claim for compensation. Follow the following steps to preserve your rights and learn how workers comp works.

Get Medical Attention

After you get injured or feel ill, the first step is to see a doctor. Don’t delay seeking help from a Colorado Springs, CO healthcare professional. This could not only jeopardize your health, but you run the risk of missing time-sensitive deadlines in the workers’ compensation process. Having a proper medical report that details the extent of the damages and how it happens is the first step in the process. Your employer cannot file a claim with their insurance carrier without this information.

When dealing with a job-related illness, the symptoms and diagnosis may not happen right away. You may find yourself attending regular checkups and testing for weeks or months before a doctor finally associates your illness with your job. Your doctor may make the determination that the illness is either the result of your work conditions or aggravated by them. Once they do, see your human resources representative to file a workers’ compensation claim.

File a First Report of Injury

The first report of an on the job injury or illness will provide the workers’ compensation insurance carrier with the details of the events leading up to the injury. In this report, you will provide your physical injuries, the medical treatment you received and the facilities that provided it. It’s always a good idea to bring a copy of the doctor’s report to submit with the report of injury.

Employees in Colorado Springs must provide written notice of their injury to the employer within four days. The employer then has 10 days to file a report with their insurance company. If the employer fails to file this report, the employee may file a claim directly. You need to file this direct claim within two years of the injury.

Timeline and Other Information

Once you file a claim, the insurance company has 20 days to accept or deny the claim. If denied, you have 45 days to for an expedited hearing. In the case your claim is accepted, it can be more than 30 days before you start receiving your benefits. But they will be retroactive to the date of injury. If you are temporarily disabled, wage benefits will continue until you are able to return to work. If your condition has stabilized, and you are still not able to fully return to work. Then you may be eligible for permanent disability.

Your employer should furnish you with information about the claims process. The adjuster or insurance carrier representative may want to speak to you at some point. Typically about the incident and any possible witnesses to the event. In the meantime, the workers’ comp insurer may begin paying medical benefits while the investigation into your claim continues.

Why You Should Hire a Colorado Springs, Colorado Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

While workers’ compensation claims may be straightforward for some cases in Colorado Springs, Colorado, in others, it may be more difficult. For example, your employer may decide to question whether you were hurt on the clock or your own time. It’s also common for a company to question the full extent of your injury. Hiring a Colorado Springs workers’ comp lawyer ensures that you have an advocate to fight for your rights as a victim.

Work With an Experienced Local Lawyer In Colorado Springs, Colorado

If you are hurt or contract an illness as a result of your job in Colorado Springs, CO you need to find the right people to help. Since the workers’ compensation claims process can have pitfalls, you should consider getting a local attorney who knows how to avoid them. 

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area! 

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.

Secured & Trusted

technolawyer