Workers Compensation in Reno, NV

You aren’t alone if you ask “How does workers comp work?” Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance that provides wage and medical benefits to people who have become ill or injured while at work.

The extent of workers’ comp coverage an employer is required to carry is governed by Nevada state law. Thus, in trying to figure out how workers comp works, it helps to understand the laws on the books in the state where the business operates.

If the injury or illness a worker sustains is eligible for compensation, the insurance carrier should help ease the financial burden the illness or injury created on the worker. Learn some of the basic principles of Reno, NV workers’ compensation insurance, and how the process works.

Workers Compensation Statistics in Reno, Nevada?

According to the Nevada Department of Business and Industry, the leisure and hospitality industry has the highest number of injuries. Those numbers are particularly high in the food service industry. Other Nevada industries with high injury rates include trade, transportation, utilities, and construction.

Employees in Reno are most likely to be injured by overexertion, falls, or contact with objects and equipment. The most common injuries from these incidents are sprains, strains, and tears. While some of these injuries are minor, more than half result in missed days, job restriction, or transfer. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that the most severe injuries occur in the construction industry.

How Does Workers Comp Work in Reno, Nevada?

Unfortunately, going through the process of applying for workers’ compensation begins with getting sick or injured on the job. The circumstances surrounding the incident that led to your problems are especially crucial. For example, the injury had to occur during your regular work duties. While an event that happens during your lunch break wouldn’t apply, getting into a car accident while running an errand for your boss would qualify for a claim. 

The Department of Business and Industry requires all employers in Nevada to carry workers’ compensation insurance. However, limited exceptions exist for some theatrical, sports, and religious occupations. Employees in Reno are eligible for coverage of all medical costs relative to a work injury. Disability compensation is also available if your injury causes more than 5 days of missed work. Monthly disability payments are calculated based on your average monthly wage but are capped at $4184 per month.

For example, say your supervisor asked you to drop something off on your lunch break. While running this errand you then get in a car accident on your way to the destination. Any resulting injury is eligible for workers’ compensation. However, if you are on your lunch break, performing no such task when you get in an accident, it does not qualify for a claim.

The steps you take immediately following a workplace incident in Reno, NV are critical for the purposes of filing a claim for compensation. Follow the following steps to preserve your rights and learn how workers comp works.

Get Medical Attention

After you get injured or feel ill, the first step is to see a doctor. Don’t delay seeking help from a Reno, NV healthcare professional. This could not only jeopardize your health, but you run the risk of missing time-sensitive deadlines in the workers’ compensation process. Having a proper medical report detailing the extent of the damage and how it occurred is the first step in the process. Your employer cannot file a claim with their insurance carrier without this information.

When dealing with a job-related illness, the symptoms and diagnosis may not happen right away. You may find yourself attending regular checkups and testing for weeks or months before a doctor finally associates your illness with your job. Your doctor may make the determination that the illness is either the result of your work conditions or aggravated by them. Once they do, see your human resources representative to file a workers’ compensation claim.

File a First Report of Injury

The first report of an on-the-job injury or illness will provide the workers’ compensation insurance carrier with the details of the events leading up to the injury. In this report, you will provide your physical injuries, the medical treatment you received and the facilities that provided it. It’s always a good idea to bring a copy of the doctor’s report to submit with the report of injury.

The Department of Business and Industry requires employees injured in Reno to provide written notice to their employer within 7 days. Your employer will notify the insurance company of the injury. However, you must also file a direct claim for compensation with the insurance company within 90 days of the injury.

Timeline and Other Information

Once a claim is submitted, the insurance company has 30 days to either deny the claim or begin payment. Temporary disability compensation is paid until you are able to return to work, or your condition has stabilized. However, the maximum duration for compensation is 24 months. If you are determined to have a permanent disability, your compensation will be based on a variety of factors and may result in lifetime payments.

Your employer should furnish you with information about the claims process. The adjuster or insurance carrier representative may want to speak to you at some point about the incident and any possible witnesses to the event. In the meantime, the workers’ comp insurer may begin paying medical benefits while the investigation into your claim continues.

Why You Should Hire a Reno, Nevada Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

While workers’ compensation claims may be straightforward for some cases in Reno, Nevada, in others, it may be more difficult. For example, your employer may decide to question whether you were hurt on the clock or your own time. It’s also common for a company to question the full extent of your injury. Hiring a Reno workers’ comp lawyer ensures that you have an advocate to fight for your rights as a victim.

Work With an Experienced Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Reno

If you are hurt or contract an illness as a result of your job in Reno, NV you need to find the right people to help. Since the workers’ compensation claims process can have pitfalls, you should consider getting a local attorney who knows how to avoid them. 

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with a workers compensation attorney in Reno!

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.