Workers Compensation in Mississippi

You aren’t alone if you wonder how workers comp works. Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance that provides wage and medical benefits to people who have become ill or injured while at work. The extent of workers’ comp coverage an employer is required to carry is governed by Mississippi state law. Thus, in trying to figure out how workers comp works, it helps to understand the laws on the books in the state where the business operates. If the injury or illness a worker sustains is eligible for compensation, the insurance carrier should help ease the financial burden the illness or injury created on the worker. Learn some of the basic principles of Mississippi workers’ compensation insurance and how the process works.

Workers Compensation Statistics in Mississippi?

Mississippi does not provide data for workplace injuries, but national averages can give reasonable expectations. The Mississippi Department of Agriculture & Commerce states that farming employs 17.4% of the state’s population directly or indirectly. Hog farming and crop production in Mississippi produce over $3.37 billion. But on the flip side, its employees have the highest rates of injury among farming companies, based on data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

How Does Workers Comp Work in Mississippi?

There is a standard practice to follow when going through the Mississippi workers’ compensation process. Unfortunately, it begins with you getting sick or injured on the job. The circumstances surrounding the incident that led to the injury are especially crucial. The injury had to occur during the course of your regular work duties. It could also occur while you were performing a special task at the request of your boss. 

Mississippi requires employers to have workers’ compensation insurance if they have five or more employees on their payroll. Some categories of workers are exempt from this, including but not limited to the following: farm laborers, federal workers, and independent contractors. Beneficiaries receive compensation for medical expenses. In addition to weekly cash disability benefits, and out-of-pocket expenses for activities related to the injury. The Workers’ Compensation Commission provides up to ⅔ of the last year’s average weekly salary to individuals for up to 450 weeks.

The steps you take immediately following a workplace incident in Mississippi are critical for purposes of filing a claim for compensation. Follow the following steps to preserve your rights and learn how workers comp works.

Get Medical Attention

After you get injured or feel ill, the first step is to see a doctor. Don’t delay receiving help from a Mississippi healthcare professional. This could not only jeopardize your health, but you run the risk of missing time-sensitive deadlines in the workers’ compensation process.

Even if you believe that your injury is minor, get a proper medical report detailing the extent of the damage and how it occurred. This is the first step in the workers’ compensation claim process. Absent a medical report, your employer cannot file a claim with the insurance carrier.

When dealing with a job-related illness, the symptoms and diagnosis may not happen right away. You may find yourself attending regular checkups and testing for weeks or months before a doctor finally associates your illness with your job. All of your medical records will become the foundation from which the workers’ comp carrier will launch its investigation. Your doctor may make the determination that the illness is the result of your work conditions or aggravated by them. Once they do, see your human resources representative to file a workers’ compensation claim.

File a First Report of Injury

Once you have a medical diagnosis relating your illness or injury to your job, you must file a claim with your employer. This is the next important phase of how Mississippi workers comp works.

Mississippi gives employees injured on the job two years to apply for workers’ compensation. Any attempts to obtain benefits after that time may result in a denial. After seeking medical attention, report the injury to your employer within 30 days. Businesses are responsible for completing the First Report of Injury or Illness form after notification of a work-related injury. The Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Commission provides a document for citizens that covers frequently asked questions about the entire process.

The first report of an on the job injury or illness will provide the workers’ compensation insurance carrier with the details of the events leading up to the injury. In this report, you will provide your physical injuries, the medical treatment you received and the facilities that provided it. It’s always a good idea to submit a copy of the doctor’s report  with the report of injury.

Your employer should furnish you with information about the claims process. The adjuster or insurance carrier representative may want to speak to you at some point about the incident and any possible witnesses to the event. Mississippi has a five day waiting period before beneficiaries can receive payments, but those days are paid out if your injury lasts longer than fourteen days. If the injuries are severe enough to justify permanent disability benefits, an employee may receive weekly payments for the rest of their life or a lump-sum settlement.

Why You Should Hire a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

In learning how Mississippi workers comp works, many people believe that the injury claims process is straightforward. While this may be the case in some instances, in others, it may be more of a hassle. For instance, your employer may question whether you were hurt on the clock or on your own time. The company may also start to question the extent of your injury. There may even arise pay disputes and long-term care dictated by the doctor. Don’t question how workers comp works and risk losing your claim. Hire a Mississippi workers’ comp lawyer and ensure you have an advocate to fight for your rights as a victim.

Work With an Experienced Local Lawyer in Mississippi

Your health and wellbeing need to come first. If you are hurt while working or find out an illness you are suffering is the result of your job, you will want to seek compensation. Since the workers’ compensation claims process may be tricky, you should consider getting a local attorney well versed in how to deal with it. We can even help you connect with an attorney across Mississippi state lines. They can guide you while you continue to learn how workers comp works.

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.

Secured & Trusted

technolawyer