Workers Compensation in Manchester, NH

You aren’t alone if you ask “How does workers comp work?” Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance that provides wage and medical benefits to people who have become ill or injured while at work. The extent of workers’ comp coverage an employer is required to carry is governed by New Hampshire state law. Thus, in trying to figure out how workers comp works, it helps to understand the laws on the books in the state where the business operates. If the injury or illness a worker sustains is eligible for compensation, the insurance carrier should help ease the financial burden the illness or injury created on the worker. Learn some of the basic principles of Manchester, NH workers’ compensation insurance and how the process works.

Workers Compensation Statistics in Manchester, New Hampshire?

Manchester and other cities in New Hampshire do not report nonfatal occupational injury data to the government. The good news is that statistical data exists to help provide a picture of the problem. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics says almost a quarter of employees in Manchester work in education and health. Unfortunately, this data from the Department of Labor records an average of 2 incidents for every 100 employees in this field.

How Does Workers Comp Work in Manchester, New Hampshire?

Unfortunately, going through the process of applying for workers’ compensation begins with getting sick or injured on the job. The circumstances surrounding the incident that led to your problems are especially crucial. For example, the injury had to occur during your regular work duties. While an event that happens during your lunch break wouldn’t apply, getting into a car accident while running an errand for your boss would qualify for a claim.

Any employer in Manchester, even if they only have one employee, must carry workers’ compensation coverage. Only a handful of individuals qualify for exemptions, including LLCs, corporations with no employees, and sole proprietors. The Department of Labor pays your medical bills and about 60% of your average pay for the last twenty-six weeks. The latest minimum and maximum rates in New Hampshire are $301.50 and $2512.50.

For example, say your supervisor asked you to drop something off on your lunch break. While running this errand you then get in a car accident on your way to the destination. Any resulting injury is eligible for workers’ compensation. However, if you are on your lunch break, performing no such task when you get in an accident, it does not qualify for a claim.

The steps you take immediately following a workplace incident in Manchester, NH are critical for purposes of filing a claim for compensation. Follow the following steps to preserve your rights and learn how workers comp works.

Get Medical Attention

After you get injured or feel ill, the first step is to see a doctor. Don’t delay seeking help from a Manchester, NH healthcare professional. This could not only jeopardize your health, but you run the risk of missing time-sensitive deadlines in the workers’ compensation process. Having a proper medical report detailing the extent of the damage and how it occurred is the first step in the process. Your employer cannot file a claim with their insurance carrier without this information.

When dealing with a job-related illness, the symptoms and diagnosis may not happen right away. You may find yourself attending regular checkups and testing for weeks or months before a doctor finally associates your illness with your job. Your doctor may make the determination that the illness is either the result of your work conditions or aggravated by them. Once they do, see your human resources representative file a workers’ compensation claim.

File a First Report of Injury

The first report of an on-the-job injury or illness will provide the workers’ compensation insurance carrier with the details of the events leading up to the injury. In this report, you will provide your physical injuries, the medical treatment you received, and the facilities that provided it. It’s always a good idea to bring a copy of the doctor’s report to submit with the report of injury.

You have two years from the date of an injury to file for workers’ compensation in Manchester, NH. After you notify your employer, they must file an Employer’s First Report of Injury. The actual pay for your lost wages comes from taking ⅔ of your average salary for the last year. Illness or injuries from work-related activities don’t always appear right away. So don’t delay seeking medical attention and advice.

Timeline and Other Information

Workers’ compensation starts in Manchester on your fourth day away from work because of an illness or injury. In general, your benefits can last up to 262 weeks. But, different schedules exist for harm done to particular body parts. If your impairment is permanent, the limitations depend on your level of disability. For example, total loss of an arm gives you benefits for up to 210 weeks. If you only have 20% loss on your medical records, that equals 42weeks. Based on information made available by the New Hampshire Department of Labor.

Your employer should furnish you with information about the claims process. The adjuster or insurance carrier representative may want to speak to you at some point about the incident and any possible witnesses to the event. In the meantime, the workers’ comp insurer may begin paying medical benefits while the investigation into your claim continues.

Why You Should Hire a Manchester, New Hampshire Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

While workers’ compensation claims may be straightforward for some cases in Manchester, New Hampshire, in others, it may be more difficult. For example, your employer may decide to question whether you were hurt on the clock or your own time. It’s also common for a company to question the full extent of your injury. Hiring a Manchester workers’ comp lawyer ensures that you have an advocate to fight for your rights as a victim.

Work With an Experienced Local Lawyer In Manchester, New Hampshire

If you are hurt or contract an illness as a result of your job in Manchester, NH you need to find the right people to help. Since the workers’ compensation claims process can have pitfalls, you should consider getting a local attorney who knows how to avoid them.

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.