Workers Compensation in Fresno, CA
You aren’t alone if you ask “How does workers comp work?” Workers’ compensation is a type of insurance that provides wage and medical benefits to people who have become ill or injured while at work. The extent of workers’ comp coverage an employer is required to carry is governed by California state law. Thus, in trying to figure out how workers comp works, it helps to understand the laws on the books in the state where the business operates. If the injury or illness a worker sustains is eligible for compensation, the insurance carrier should help ease the financial burden the illness or injury created on the worker. Learn some of the basic principles of Fresno, CA workers’ compensation insurance and how the process works.
Workers Compensation Statistics in Fresno, California?
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reported over 74,300 people worked in education and healthcare in Fresno in November 2020. Unfortunately for teachers and healthcare workers, the Department of Industrial Relations published data that shows they had the second-most workplace injuries in Fresno County. You might be more alarmed to learn that over 68,500 local individuals in transportation, trade, and utilities reported an astounding 35,700 cases in 2019. If you live and work in Fresno, you need to understand more about workers’ compensation and how it works.
How Does Workers Comp Work in Fresno, California?
Unfortunately, going through the process of applying for workers’ compensation begins with getting sick or injured on the job. The circumstances surrounding the incident that led to your problems are especially crucial. For example, the injury had to occur during your regular work duties. While an event that happens during your lunch break wouldn’t apply, getting into a car accident while running an errand for your boss would qualify for a claim.
California state law mandates any organization with one or more employees must have workers’ compensation insurance. Only a handful of exceptions exist in Fresno for independent contractors, domestic workers, and deputy sheriffs. Your reimbursements for lost wages should begin after the standard three-day waiting period. If all goes well, you will receive ⅔ of your pre-tax wages for the last year. $182.29 is the least an individual can receive, and the weekly payments max out at $1,215.27.
For example, say your supervisor asked you to drop something off on your lunch break. While running this errand you then get in a car accident on your way to the destination. Any resulting injury is eligible for workers’ compensation. However, if you are on your lunch break, performing no such task when you get in an accident, it does not qualify for a claim.
The steps you take immediately following a workplace incident in Fresno, CA are critical for purposes of filing a claim for compensation. Follow the following steps to preserve your rights and learn how workers comp works.
Get Medical Attention
After you get injured or feel ill, the first step is to see a doctor. Don’t delay seeking help from a Fresno, CA healthcare professional. This could not only jeopardize your health, but you run the risk of missing time-sensitive deadlines in the workers’ compensation process. Having a proper medical report detailing the extent of the damage and how it occured is the first step in the process. Your employer cannot file a claim with their insurance carrier without this information.
When dealing with a job-related illness, the symptoms and diagnosis may not happen right away. You may find yourself attending regular checkups and testing for weeks or months before a doctor finally associates your illness with your job. Your doctor may make the determination that the illness is either the result of your work conditions or aggravated by them. Once they do, see your human resources representative to file a workers’ compensation claim.
File a First Report of Injury
The first report of an on the job injury or illness will provide the workers’ compensation insurance carrier with the details of the events leading up to the injury. In this report, you will provide your physical injuries, the medical treatment you received and the facilities that provided it. It’s always a good idea to bring a copy of the doctor’s report to submit with the report of injury.
After finding medical help, you must notify your employer of the injury or illness in writing within thirty days of the incident. If you file for an injury that did not happen recently, you must file one year from when it happened. If a minor was involved, that time starts after their eighteenth birthday. Most states allow for more time to file a claim, so you must remain vigilant in central California. Employers in Fresno have five days from your notification to file an Employer’s Report of Occupational Injury or Illness with the state.
Timeline and Other Information
After the state receives your claim after an injury on the job in Fresno, CA, you must wait three calendar days before benefits payout. The waiting period can get waived if you’re in the hospital or the victim of criminal violence. Temporary benefits do not stop until a doctor has determined that you’re able to return to work. Permanent disability benefits specifically depend on the nature of your injury.
Your employer should furnish you with information about the claims process. The adjuster or insurance carrier representative may want to speak to you at some point. Typically either about the incident, and to any possible witnesses to the event. In the meantime, the workers’ comp insurer may begin paying medical benefits while the investigation into your claim continues.
Why You Should Hire a Fresno, California Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
While workers’ compensation claims may be straightforward for some cases in Fresno, California, in others, it may be more difficult. Your employer might ask if you suffer an injury on the clock or your own time. It’s also common for a company to question the full extent of your injury. Hiring a Fresno workers’ comp lawyer ensures that you have an advocate to fight for your rights as a victim.
Work With an Experienced Local Lawyer In Fresno, California
If you are hurt or contract an illness as a result of your job in Fresno, CA you need to find the right people to help. Since the workers’ compensation claims process can have pitfalls, you should consider getting a local attorney who knows how to avoid them.
Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!