Personal Injury Law in Mesa, AZ

Tuscaloosa residents are hard working, hard nosed people that know the value of honest work. Still, there are times when injuries can sideline a Tuscaloosa resident and force them into a legal situation in order to collect damages or expenses. If you have been injured you shouldn’t have to hire an attorney just to collect what you are owed; but this might be the case, regardless. If so, you may want to contact an experienced attorney in Tuscaloosa.

What Is Personal Injury Law?

Personal injury law in Mesa relates to the legal process of getting compensation for an injury caused by someone else’s negligent behavior. These cases involve one party, the plaintiff, trying to seek financial compensation for expenses incurred and money lost as a result of the defendant’s reckless behavior. These cases involve both parties’ insurance companies and may even settle before proceeding to litigation.

Examples of Personal Injury Claims in Mesa, AZ

Some personal injury claims are more common than others. However, almost any incident that ends with a physical or mental injury could qualify, depending on the circumstances.

A few of the most common personal injury claims are:

  • Car Accidents
  • Slip and Fall
  • Dog Bites
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Workplace Accidents
  • Burn Injuries

Most Common Injuries in Mesa 

The Maricopa County Health assessment states that car crashes are still near the top of the list for personal injuries in Mesa. In addition, Mesa officials are beginning to take a look at mental health statistics in the area. They are studying this not only for their effects on personal injuries, such as stemming from discord or neglect, but also on the effects of the greater health of the population.

Steps in a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Mesa, AZ

Once you determine that you wish to proceed forward with a personal injury action in Arizona

A lawsuit begins when a complaint is filed with the court and served on the defendant. The complaint alleges your assertion as the plaintiff that the defendant’s negligent behavior resulted in damage to your body or mental state. As the process proceeds forward, you may have to go through depositions, independent medical evaluations and document production. This discovery process is lengthy and ends in either settlement or a court appearance.

Court processes can vary, mainly because most cases are settled before they ever reach a court. If you have been injured you may want to contact an experienced Mesa attorney to help you file in a local Maricopa County Court. If the other party does not wish to settle, then the court will set a date for trial.

Arizona Personal Injury Settlement

With most personal injury cases, insurance companies and injured parties prefer settlement negotiations rather than going to court for a trial. You may wonder how much you should seek in your settlement and factors that impact the final amount.

Mesa residents should try to temper their settlement expectations. While many have ideas of settlements in the hundreds of thousands, or millions, this is not typically the case. In fact, most personal injury settlements range between $5,000 and $10,000.

If the other party has insurance, the insurance company likely wants to settle out of court to avoid leaving the final settlement decision to a jury. Settlements benefit injured parties as much as they do insurance companies. This is because accepting a settlement means you receive compensation sooner rather than later. Also, by going to court in AZ, that means you risk not receiving any compensation at all.

Damage Awards in Arizona

If your Arizona personal injury lawsuit goes before a judge or jury, your legal team will be ready with a request for damages. In personal injury cases, there are three types of damage awards a court may order the defendant to pay to compensate you for the damage he or she inflicted.

Special compensatory damages reimburse you for things such as lost income, medical bills and insurance deductibles. You submit receipts proving these losses.

General compensatory damages are subjective. If you receive special compensatory damages, you may also collect general damages. If your injury was particularly painful, you might request that the judge order the defendant compensate you for the pain and anguish.

Punitive damages are the most rarely awarded and are up to the court. The judge or jury may determine that the defendant’s negligence was particularly heinous and the resulting injury to you was equally horrific.

The Arizona State Constitution prevents the application of damage caps in cases.

Statute of Limitations in Mesa, AZ Personal Injury Law?

The injured party may have a set amount of time to file suit for a personal injury case. State law establishes statutes of limitation. Commonly, the plaintiff’s injury or discovery of the injury begins the statute of limitations. However, the latter factor is trickier, as the plaintiff will have to prove when the injury was first realized.

Personal injury claims in Mesa have a statute of limitations of 2 years, If you allow this time to lapse you will find it very difficult to pursue restitution.

We recommend you speak with a personal injury lawyer for this matter. Don’t wait too long and miss out on receiving the compensation you deserve for your injury. 

Work With an Experienced Mesa, AZ Lawyer

Pursue a personal injury claim in Arizona against the responsible person if you are dealing with an injury caused by someone else. One of our experienced lawyers can help you navigate your personal injury claim. We can even help you connect with an attorney across Arizona state lines.

Submit a request online or call us today at (866) 345-6784 to get in touch with an experienced lawyer in your area!

How It All Works

Call us or answer the questions on this site. Your category, location, and additional information will help us connect you to a legal professional and we’ll send you the results instantly.

Which Areas of Law?

We have attorneys in over 20 legal categories to choose from.

How Much Does This Cost?

We don’t charge you to be connected. Some legal categories require upfront fees while others do not. The legal professional will determine this with you before you commit to anything.