Eviction Law in Mesa, AZ
The stress of being evicted from your home can weigh on those living in Mesa. The feeling of uncertainty surrounding this can be nearly paralyzing. Still, you have rights that cannot be transgressed, and you must be treated fairly under the law. If you think you have been the victim of unfair treatment in this process, it may be in your best interest to contact an experienced attorney in Mesa.
What Is an Eviction?
An eviction is the forceful exiting of tenants following an issued notice by the property owner or landlord. Evictions usually come as a result of failure to pay rent, or from violations of the lease agreement. However, evicting a problem tenant can be a long and costly experience as landlord-tenant laws favor tenants. Getting a better understanding of how Mesa, Arizona eviction law can help.
Even though eviction notices happen as a result of serious problems with the tenant, not all eviction notices lead to an actual eviction. Oftentimes, eviction notices serve as a final warning for the tenant. If the tenant can then pay rent, or begin to follow the lease agreement, they may avoid eviction.
When Can Landlords Send a Termination Notice?
The Tenant Doesn’t Pay Rent
If a delinquent Mesa, AZ tenant frequently pays rent late, or has not paid rent at all, there is a good reason for eviction. Some states do have a grace period for an occasional late payment. However, if a tenant makes a habit of always paying late, that grace period does not apply and the property owner can provide an eviction notice.
The Arizona State Legislature provides a grace period of 5 days after the initial due date for renters to pay their rent. If this 5 day grace period lapses, and no rent has been paid, the landlord can begin the eviction process.
You should always provide your tenant with “late rent” notices and keep a copy for yourself in your files. That way, if the eviction case goes to court, you have paper evidence of their failure to pay rent on time.
The Tenant Violates the Terms or Conditions of the Lease Agreement
Lease agreements are legal contracts. This means if your tenant violates the contract in any way, it can be grounds for eviction. For example, if your lease agreement says that your tenant cannot have an additional person living in the unit, and they violate that rule, you can begin the eviction notice process.
The lease agreement is also legally binding for the landlord. This means that any Mesa landlord must also follow the rules laid out in the agreement, such as making repairs, and performing maintenance written into the lease.
The Tenant Damages the Property
Tenants are going to cause damage to the property; it’s unavoidable. Wear and tear when living in a home is normal. Still, there’s a difference between scratches on the wall or broken blinds, and intentional destruction of property.
If it’s clear that your tenant is causing severe damage to your property, such as breaking through walls or smashing windows, this may be cause for eviction. However, if your tenant makes repairs themselves, and doesn’t make any major changes to the property, this might not be grounds for eviction.
The Tenant Uses the Property for Illegal Purposes
If your tenant is using your Mesa property for illegal purposes, such as selling drugs or weapons, this can be clear grounds for eviction. Reporting the issue might also bring criminal charges against the tenant.
However, you should prepare to provide evidence that the tenant is using the property for illegal purposes. If law enforcement came to the property to address these issues at any time, these reports can prove helpful.
How to Evict a Tenant in Mesa, Arizona
If you want to evict a tenant for any reason, then you need to understand the eviction process. Here’s how it works.
Step 1. Check Your Local Laws
Eviction laws are different in each state and can also vary at the city level. Therefore, it’s important to familiarize yourself with local laws before taking any action. Always ensure you have a legally valid reason for an eviction before giving notice. A qualified Mesa, AZ attorney can help review your case to determine if you do.
All rights and responsibilities of both landlords and tenants in Mesa are laid out in the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. Tenants have their reasonable right to privacy in their unit, and must generally be given 2 days notice if the landlord desires to enter the property. Tenants in Mesa have a right to withhold partial or full rental payments if the landlord does not make needed or requested repairs to the unit in a timely manner. In addition, tenants must be served with a Notice to Quit before they face eviction.
Step 2. Give a Formal Notice of Eviction
If you have tried to reason with your tenants and they continue to violate the terms of your lease, you should then provide them with a formal notice of eviction. Your eviction notice will serve as an ultimatum or final warning. It should explain how your tenant is in violation, as well as what they can do to stop the eviction process.
The eviction notice should also include a deadline for the tenant to either pay rent or move out, and the amount that the tenant owes. If you’re unsure of how to create an eviction notice, you can use online templates or seek legal advice.
A Mesa landlord can begin eviction for nonpayment of rent after 5 days, according to the Maricopa County Justice Court. The landlord can begin eviction proceedings for other lease violations after 10 days. Remember that a landlord cannot “self evict” by resorting to measures such as turning off heat or water, or barring the tenant from entering the rental unit. Tenants can only be evicted by court order, and this court order must be delivered by the Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office.
Step 3. File the Eviction with the Court
You must file the eviction notice with the court within a few days. The court will then set a hearing date and will notify the tenant of the hearing by a summons. If the amount due is less than $10,000, a Mesa landlord would most likely file with the Justice Court of Maricopa County. However, if the amount in question is greater than $10,000 then the Superior Court of Maricopa County is most likely where the process will start..
Step 4. Contact an Experienced Mesa, Arizona Eviction Attorney and Prepare for the Hearing
You should find an attorney as soon as possible to help you prepare for the hearing. Then, when you go to the hearing, you should bring the following documents:
- Lease agreements
- Records of payments
- Bounced checks
- Record of communication between you and the tenant
- Record of the eviction notice
- Proof that the tenant received the notice
Step 5. Evict the Tenant
If you’ve won the hearing, your tenant will have time to move out of your property. The amount of time allowed is dependent on the state, but it typically ranges from 48 hours to one week. If the tenant refuses to leave, you can contact Mesa, AZ law enforcement to forcibly remove them from the property.
Step 6. Collect Past-Due Rent Payments
If your tenant owes you rent money, you may still have a long fight ahead to collect past-due payments. You can try to collect these payments through a number of methods:
- Hiring a private debt collector
- Garnishing their tax refunds
- Garnishing their wages
- Taking the case to small claims court
Work with an Experienced Eviction Attorney in Mesa, Arizona
The tenant will likely try to argue that you did not follow proper procedures for providing an eviction notice. Having a qualified Mesa attorney on your side can take the pressure off your back, and help ensure a victory in court. We can even help you connect with an attorney across Arizona state lines.